Project: Future of Greater Europe

The Task Force will bring forward proposals to allow all countries of the region to decisively break with the costly legacy of the Cold War and focus more effectively on meeting the emerging political, economic, and security challenges of the 21st century. It will address the causes of current levels of mistrust between key countries and actors in the region, have trust-building as a central theme in its deliberations, and will set out a rationale and vision for a cooperative Greater Europe by 2030 and a range of practical steps necessary to move the international relations of the continent in that direction.

The Leadership Task Force will be supported in its deliberations with analysis from Russian International Affairs Council (RIAC, Moscow), the European Leadership Network (ELN, UK), the Polish Institute of International Affairs (PISM, Poland), the International Strategic Research Organisation and Global Relations Forum (GRF, Turkey) .

Who Are the Members of the Task Force?

The Task Force is comprised of distinguished former political, military and diplomatic figures. Its full confirmed membership is as follows:

  • Igor S. Ivanov, Former Foreign Minister, President, Russian International Affairs Council, Corresponding Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Russia) (Task Force Co-Chair);
  • Des Browne, Former Defence Secretary (UK) (Task Force Co-Chair);
  • Adam Daniel Rotfeld, Former Foreign Minister (Poland) (Task Force Co-Chair);
  • Özdem Sanberk, Director of the International Strategic Research Organisation, former Undersecretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Turkey) (Task Force Co-Chair);
  • Vyacheslav I. Trubnikov, former Director, Russian Foreign Intelligence, General (Rtd) and former Ambassador, RIAC Vice President (Russia);
  • Igor Yu. Yurgens, Chairman of the Board of the Institute of Contemporary Development, RIAC Member (Russia);
  • Ana Palacio, former Foreign Minister (Spain);
  • Malcolm Rifkind, former Foreign and Defence Secretary (UK);
  • Volker Ruehe, former Defence Minister, (Germany);
  • Tarja Cronberg, Former Member of the European Parliament and former Director of the Copenhagen Peace Research Institute (Finland);
  • Paul Quiles, former Defence Minister (France);
  • Hervé Morin, former Defense Minister and Leader of the New Center party (France);
  • Ruslan S. Grinberg, Scientific Director of RAS Institute of Economics, Corresponding member of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Russia);
  • Alexei Gromyko, Director of the Institute of Europe of the Russian Academy of Sciences (IE RAS), RIAC Member (Russia);
  • Anatoliy Torkunov, Rector of Moscow State Institute of International Relations of the RF MFA, RAS Full Member, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Russian Federation, RIAC Member (Russia);
  • Vitaly V. Zhurkin, Director Emeritus of the RAS Institute of Europe, RAS Full Member, RIAC Member (Russia);
  • Anatoly Adamishin, former Deputy Foreign Minister and Ambassador to the UK, President of the Association of Euro-Atlantic Cooperation, and Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Russian Federation, RIAC Member (Russia);
  • Georgy Mamedov, former Ambassador to Canada and former Adviser to President Putin, RIAC Vice President (Russia);
  • Mikhail Margelov, Vice President of Transneft, JSC, RIAC Vice President (Russia);
  • Tony Brenton, former Ambassador to Russia (UK);
  • Hikmet Cetin, former Foreign Minister (Turkey).
  • Pierre Lellouche, former Secretary of State for European Affairs and Foreign Trade (France).
  • Borys Tarasyuk, former Foreign Minister (Ukraine).

What will the Task Force do?

The Task Force will:

  • Consider the current state of efforts, intellectually and practically, to deepen levels of political, military and economic cooperation in the region;
  • Examine the steps necessary to avoid a further worsening of relations between Russia and the countries of the EU and NATO in the short-term;
  • Explore the causes of the mistrust that currently acts as a barrier to deeper cooperation and the steps that might be capable of changing the trust dynamic;
  • Bring forward proposals on how to radically transform the political-military relationship between Russia and NATO, including in the fields of nuclear policy and deployments, missile defence, conventional forces, non-military security cooperation, and crisis management;
  • Set out a strategic rationale for the concept of a cooperative Greater Europe by 2030;
  • Consider how new issue areas, such as cyber-security, bio-security and space might become areas of cooperative endeavour between the countries of the region rather than new areas of competition and conflict;
  • Develop proposals for deeper economic cooperation and the easier movement of people in the region;
  • Set out a vision for what the internal characteristics of a more cooperative Greater European space would be, drawing on the work of others already done in this field;
  • Consider the suitability and effectiveness of the current institutional architecture within the space, the changes that are already occurring, and the further changes that may be necessary if the institutional architecture is to remain effective.

What do we mean by Greater Europe?

For the purposes of this project, the term ‘Greater Europe’ refers to the entire geographic space between Iceland and Norway in the North and Turkey in the South and the space from Portugal in the West to Russia in the east. It is not bounded by the membership of any one regional institution.

Updates on project activities will be placed on the ELN, PISM and RIAC web-sites at the following addresses:

For further information and background on the project, please contact one of the following:

The project is a part of the "Russia and Euro-Atlantic" Program.

Analytics (23)


Comments (2)


Analytics (23)


Comments (2)

Fyodor Lukyanov

Editor-in-Chief of Russia in Global Affairs magazine, Chairman of the Presidium of the Council for Foreign and Defense Policy, RIAC Member.

Dawn Breaks on New Era in EU-Russia Relations


Project Manager

Natalia Viakhireva

PhD in Political Science, RIAC Program Manager

Back to the list

For business
For researchers
For students